Program Faculty in Applied Mathematics

Faculty in the Department of Mathematics at The University of Akron reside in two divisions: Theoretical Mathematics and Applied Mathematics. This affords the student great flexibility in selecting courses and planning a graduate program. Most of the core courses in the Applied Mathematics Master's program are taught by mathematics and applied mathematics division faculty, but the student will also have the opportunity to work with faculty from the other departments. Student's entering the Engineering Applied Mathematics Ph.D. program will also have the opportunity to work with faculty members from the Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Electrical, Mechanical and Polymer Engineering disciplines.

The following list includes all faculty from the Department of Mathematics who are in the applied mathematics division and/or hold a joint appointment with a department in the College of Engineering. Those with joint appointments may direct dissertations in the Engineering Applied Mathematics Ph.D. program.

Faculty Member Email and Phone Appointments Specialties
Curtis Clemons Email: curtis@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8353
Applied Mathematics Dynamical systems
Dmitry Golovaty Email: dmitry@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8012
Applied Mathematics Nonlinear Analysis,
Partial Differential Equations,
Calculus of Variations
Laura Gross Email: gross@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6829
Applied Mathematics Partial Differential Equations,
Perturbation Methods,
Nonlinear Dynamics
S. I. Hariharan Email: hari@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6580
Applied Mathematics,
Electrical Engineering
Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computations,
Waves in Unbounded Regions,
Problems in Materials Science
John Heminger Email: heminger@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8009
Applied Mathematics Numerical analysis,
Parallel computing
Kevin Kreider Email: kreider@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-7519
Applied Mathematics,
Mechanical Engineering
Time dependent inverse problems
Lala B. Krishna Email: lala@cs.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-7199
Mathematics,
Mechanical Engineering
Numerical methods,
Numerical linear algebra
Dale Mugler Email: dmugler@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-5365
Applied Mathematics,
Biomedical Engineering
Signal processing algorithms,
Biomedical applications
Thomas E. Price Email: teprice@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8352
Applied Mathematics Numerical analysis,
Approximation theory,
Biomedical engineering
Gerald W. Young Email: jerry@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-5731
Applied Mathematics,
Mechanical Engineering
Engineering sciences,
Modeling of material processing systems
Jianping Zhu Email: jzhu@math.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8020
Professor of Applied Mathematics Numerical methods and scientific computing

The interdisciplinary nature of the Engineering Applied Mathematics program means that students will have the opportunity to work with some of the finest Engineering faculty available. Examples of some of these faculty members and their research interests are listed below.

Faculty Member Email and Phone Appointments Specialties
Celal Batur Email: batur@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8698
MechanicalEngineering Control Theory and Solidification
Wieslaw K. Binienda Email: wbinienda@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6693
Civil Engineering Advanced Composite Materials and Fibers
C. C. Chan Email: chan@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8014
Computer Science,
Mechanical Engineering
Artificial Intelligence,
Machine Learning
George G. Chase Email: gchase@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-7943
Chemical Engineering Multiphase Flow
Steven S. Chuang Email: schung@uakron.edu Chemical Engineering Modeling and computation of heat transfer processes
Jose A. DeAbru-Garcia Email: jdeabreu-garcia@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6709
Electrical Engineering Control Theory
Zhong-Hui Duan Email: zduan@cs.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6773
Computer Science Scientific computation of molecular simulations and the development of fast algorithms.
Edward A. Evans Email: evanse@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8292
Chemical Engineering Plasma Processing and Chemical Vapor Deposition
Tom T. Hartley Email: thartley@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-5991
Electrical Engineering Control Theory
S. G. Kelly III Email: sgraham@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6978
Mechanical Engineering Vibrations, Nonlinear Systems and Hydrodynamic Stability
Nathan Ida Email: nida@uaron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6525
Electrical Engineering Computational Electromagnetics
Avraam I. Isayev Email: aisayev@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6673
Polymer Engineering Modeling of Polymer Processing and Vistoelastic Flows
Sadhan Jana Email: janas@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8293
Polymer Engineering Modeling of polymer Processes and Nonlaminar Flows
Arkady I. Leonov Email: leonov@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-5138
Polymer Engineering Fluid Mechanics, Mechanics of Solids and Non-Newtonian Mechanics
Wayne L. Mattice Email: wlm@polymer.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6128
Polymer Science Molecular Modeling
Helen K. Qammar Email: hqammar@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-5917
Chemical Engineering Nonlinear Systems
Pizhong Qiao Email: qiao@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-7286
Civil Engineering Advanced Composite Materials and Fibers
Donald D. Quinn Email: quinn@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6302
Mechanical Engineering Dynamics and Controls
Narender P. Reddy Email: npreddy@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6653
Biomedical Engineering Modeling in Physiology and Medicine
Darrell H. Reneker Email: dhr@polymer.uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-6949
Polymer Science Modeling of Polymer Systems
Erol Sancaktar Email: erol@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-5580
Polymer Engineering Mechanics, Heat Transfer and Analysis of Bonded interfaces
Scott D. Sawyer Email: ssawyer@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8543
Mechanical Engineering Acoustics and Computational Fluid Dynamics
Igor A. Tsukerman Email: igor@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-8041
Electrical Engineering Compuational Electromagnetics
Robert J. Veillette Email: veillette@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-5403
Electrical Engineering Control Theory
Ping Yi Email: pyi@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-7294
Civil Engineering Transportation Models
Guo-Xiang Wang Email: gwang@uakron.edu
Phone: (330)-972-7389
Mechanical Engineering Heat Transfer and Solidification